The Dark Truth about Christianity

Have you ever read a quote that shook you to your very core? Well I just did. See if what Ken Gire said in The Reflective Life hits you like a ton bricks:

 I want to be like Christ. But honestly I want to be like the Christ who turned water into wine, not the Christ who thirsted on a cross. I want to be the clothed Christ, not the one whose garment was stripped and gambled away. I want to be the Christ who fed the five thousand, not the on who hungered for forty days in the wilderness…this is the dark side of Christianity, the side we don’t see when we sign up. That if we want to be like Christ, we have to embrace both sides of His life. What else could it mean when the Bible talks about ‘the fellowship of His suffering’? How could we enter that fellowship apart from suffering? How could we truly know the Man of Sorrows acquainted with grief if we had not ourselves known grief and sorrow?

Ouch! Yep, a ton of bricks. This is such a true portrayal of my heart. I want to be like the Jesus that attracted crowds to hear him teach (Matt. 4:25) not the one that attracted a mob with swords and clubs (Matt 26:47).

I want to be like the Jesus that was baptized in front everyone, that caused God the Father to speak words of adoration and caused the Spirit to rest like a dove on his shoulder (Matthew 3:16,17). But when temptation comes and I find myself in the wilderness, I do not not want to be like the Jesus that fasted food, resisted temptation and clung only to the words and commandments of God (Matthews 4:1-11).

This is the dark truth about my Christianity. Is it the dark truth about yours too?

A book I have cherished since I was young teenager was written by Ken Gire–it’s called Intimate Moments with the Savior. I highly recommend it.

Leave a thought

