Worship and a Parched Soul

I read this blog post today from Doxology and Theology, and I loved it.

Stephen Miller says, “Don’t worry about how you look when you worship. Just go for it with all your heart.”

Since joining a2 Church, corporate worship has taken on a whole new look–a total makeover since the days of “please stand” ensued a corporate groan instead of a corporate song.  Worship has become like healing water to my parched soul every week. I don’t know about you, but by the time Sunday rolls around I’m tired from the battle against frustration, anxiety and just the plain ole tendency I have to sin.

My heart longs for Jesus. Singing with my church and listening together to God’s Word being preached is the best chance I have to revamp for the next week. It is so uplifting to do this with other people who love Jesus too. I love having my lone voice get swallowed up by the others around me proclaiming, “Your goodness knows no bounds/ Your goodness never stops/ Your mercy follows me/ Your kindness fill my life.”

When it comes to physically giving praise to our sweet savior, I want the posture of my heart to be humble. That may mean tears or a stomping foot. Either way, I don’t worry about how I look when I worship. I just want to go for it with all my heart.

“I stretch out my hands to you; my soul thirsts for you like a parched land.”
Psalm 143:6

Leave a thought

